Short Biography


Professor Lord Nicholas Stern

I G Patel Chair of Economics and Government
London School of Economics and Political Science


President -Elect, Royal Economic Society                                     from 2018
Appointed Companion of Honour for Services to economics, international relations and tackling climate change                             2017
The British Academy, President                                       July 2013-July 2017
The British Museum, Deputy Chair of Trustees                           2012-2016
Fellow of The Royal Society                                                             May 2014
House of Lords, Member                                              from December 2007












Contact Details

London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7871


Kerrie Quirk

+44 (0)20 7852 3556

Lisa Duvar
(maternity cover)

+44 (0)20 7852 3564  

  LSE Roles and Responsibilities

I G Patel Professor of Economics and Government
Chair, LSE Asia Research Centre
Director, India Observatory
Chair, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
Chair, Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy
Commissioner, LSE Growth Commission
Governing Board Member, LSE Cities
Senior Adviser, International Growth Centre (IGC)
Participation in Development and Presentation of LSE100
Associate, The Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD)

back to top




    Current Committee Work

            International Advisory Panel, Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) (2017-)
Rockefeller Foundation Economic Council on Planetary Health: Oxform Martin School (2017-)
G20 Eminent Persons Group on Finance (2017-2018)
Expert Member of Advisory Board, Legal and General Investment Management (2017-)
Foresight Committee, Veolia Institute
Vice-Chair of the Global Commission and Chair of the Economic Advisory Group, Global Commission on the Economy and Climate (new Climate Economy) (2013-)
Member, China Council for International Co-operation on Environment and Development (2012- )
Oxford Martin School: Member, Advisory Board (2005- ) and Commissioner, Oxford Martin Commission for Future Generations (2012-)

(for previous committees please see the full CV)

back to top


Honorary Fellowships

  • Academy of Social Sciences (2016)

  • American Philosophical Society (2015)

  • Foreign Honorary Member, Committee on International Activities, American Academy of Social Sciences (2015)

  • The Royal Society (2014)

  • The Queen's College Oxford (2007)

  • Peterhouse, Cambridge (2006)

  • Nuffield College Oxford Visiting Fellowship (2005)

  • St Catherine's College Oxford (2000)

  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1998)

  • British Academy (1993)

  • Econometric Society (1978)

back to top


Honorary Degrees

  • City University of New York (2017)

  • University of Paris Dauphine (2009)

  • University of Brighton (2009)

  • Technische Universität Berlin (2009)

  • University of Sheffield (2008)

  • University of York (2008)

  • University of East Anglia (2008)

  • Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations (2007)

  • University of Cambridge (2007)

  • University of Nottingham (2007)

  • University of Exeter (2007)

  • University of Sussex (2007)

  • Roehampton University (2007)

  • University of Warwick (2006)

back to top



  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Business Green Leaders Awards 2016

  • Best Use of Evidence Award, Political Studies Association, 2016

  • Jos A Schumpeter Award for Innovative Achievements, 2015

  • British Institute of Energy Economics Prize for Outstanding Contributions to British Energy Economics, 2014

  • Stephen Schneider Award for Climate Communication 2013

  • Order of the Águila Azteca 2012 (June)

  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award 2011, BBVA Foundation (January)

  • Fundación Ideas (Madrid) 2010 Award for work on sustainability and climate change (December)

  • Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought, Tufts University, 2010 (November)

  • International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA) Global Environment Award 2010 (October)

  • CORINE Future Focus Book Prize 2009 (November)

  • Prince Albert II Foundation Award of Honour 2009 (October)

  • Asahi Glass Foundation 2009 Blue Planet Prize (June)

  • Royal Geographical Society Patron’s Medal 2009 (June)

  • Building a Better World Award 2008: CH2MHill (May)

  • PSA Award, Political Publication of the Year 2007 (Stern Review) (November)

  • Great Briton of the Year 2006, Special Environmental Award (Morgan Stanley/Daily Telegraph), (January 2007)

back to top

    Other Webpages

back to top